Member Only  

President Message


Dear COTA Members and Friends:

The Chinese New Year 2014 is upon us. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a harmonious and prosperous Year of the Horse!

Back at the 2014 TRB Annual Meeting, Washington DC, it was a special honor and a privilege to begin my term as the tenth president of COTA (formerly NACOTA). I am grateful to all the former presidents and the Board of Directors (BOD) members who have volunteered their time and talents to build and grow an organization and community of our own since 1996. Our former and outgoing presidents Drs. Yinhai Wang and Heng Wei deserve an enormous thank you. Under their outstanding leadership in the past four years, COTA has grown tremendously. I also want to thank Dr. Clara Fang, Dr. Hubo Cai and Mr. Jinghui Wang, who stepped down from the BOD on January 12, 2014, for their hard work and dedication to our COTA community.



The new BOD consists of 11 members, including Dr. Heng Wei (Immediate Past President), Dr. Yu Zhang (Vice President), Dr. Lei Zhang (Vice President), Dr. Henry H. Liu (Chair of Academic Affairs), Dr. Jianming Ma (Treasurer), Mr. Ken Q. Yang (Communication Officer), Dr. Xiaokun Wang (Communication Officer), Dr. Haizhong Wang (Outreach and Membership Officer), Dr. Shanjiang Zhu (General Secretary), Ms. Yi Liu (Chair of Student Affairs) and myself. The new board is young, but capable and passionate. We have set our goals and work plans to provide broader and better services to our members and increase COTA’s positive impact in the transportation communities in China and worldwide. The only way we can accomplish these is through the participation of our members and friends. On behalf of the new BOD, I would like to thank you for your contribution and involvement in various COTA activities over the years, and encourage you to continue your support to COTA and join our effort to bring COTA to the next level in the near future.

There are a couple of new developments and initiatives that I would like to share with you. As part of our continued efforts to reengineer and streamline the membership registration and management process, we are launching a new web-based system soon to allow members to register themselves and renew their membership safely with payment via PayPal. Stay tuned for more details. In the meanwhile, if you have any suggestions or comments for our membership management, please feel free to contact our Membership Officer Dr. Haizhong Wang at

As you know, one of the major activities that COTA routinely organizes every year is the COTA International Conference of Transportation Professionals or CICTP (formerly International Conference of Chinese Transportation Professionals or ICCTP). The CICTP series is the premier gathering for transportation professionals worldwide who are interested in making contributions to or gaining a deeper understanding of the transportation development in China. Through consistent efforts over the past thirteen years, CICTP has built up its reputation as one of the most influential academic conferences in China. Being the fourteenth conference in the series, CICTP2014 will be held July 4-7, 2014 in Changsha, China. The conference is jointly organized by COTA and Central South University, China. We sincerely invite you to attend this event. Although the full paper submission is past due, if you still have an interest to contribute one, please contact immediately Dr. Jianming Ma, the Chair of Organizing Committee of CICTP2014, at

I will keep you informed of our progress and latest developments. For timely update on COTA activities, and other useful information and resources, please visit the COTA website at Do not hesitate to write to me if you have any suggestions or comments. If you have news or announcements to share with the COTA community, please contact our Communication Officers Mr. Ken Yang at and Dr. Xiaokun Wang at


Yafeng Yin, Ph.D.
President, Chinese Overseas Transportation Association

Associate Professor, Dept. of Civil and Coastal Engineering
Director, Transportation Research Center
University of Florida
Tel: (352)392-9537, Ext. 1455
Fax: (352) 392-3394